USCIS extended validity of Medical Certifications on Form I-693

The endorsement of a civil surgeon on Form I-693, Report of Medical Examination and Vaccination Record, is generally valid for one year. Form I-693 is a requirement and is filed in conjunction with Form I-485, Application to Register Permanent Residence or Adjust Status, and
Form I-687, Application for Status as a Temporary Resident.

USCIS extended the validity period of the civil surgeon endorsement on Form I-693 until the underlying adjustment of status or temporary residence application could be adjudicated. This policy was issued in consultation with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and it was limited to those applications where no Class A or Class B medical condition, other than a Class B condition annotated in the “Other Medical Conditions” section, was certified. This policy is in effect until September 30, 2013.

With the new USCIS policy issued on September 4, 2013, even if more than one year has elapsed since the civil surgeon’s endorsement of a Form I-693 submitted in support of an I-485 or I-687 application, the Form I-693 will  be considered valid in any case in which:

1. The Form I-693 shows that the applicant had no Class A or Class B medical condition (other than a Class B Other Medical Condition) at the time of the medical examination; and
2.  USCIS adjudicates the Form I-485 or Form I-687 on or before May 31, 2014.

By June 1, 2014, USCIS anticipates that it will issue a new policy in regards to the sufficiency of Form I-693 endorsements. USCIS is currently working with CDC on developing the new policy.

Leave a Reply

